Turning Points

There are four turning points in a story: the First Plot Point, the Midpoint, the Third Plot Point, and the Resolution.

Hold on. Why is the Resolution a turning point, you might ask? Isn’t the resolution the end of the story?

Well, yes. Unless you’re writing a series with an overarching plot, in which it must pull double-duty to not only end this segment of the series, but to also introduce the next.

Anyway…let’s break down the first three turning points and their purpose.

  1. The First Plot Point is the first turning point. It’s when the protagonist has no choice but to leave their everyday life behind, and they can either resist it or charge right through it.
  2. The Midpoint is when the protagonist discovers the Truth and starts moving from reacting to acting.
  3. The Third Plot Point, also known as the Low Moment, is when the protagonist is dealt a major blow. (Think Rapunzel being tricked into believing Eugene has run away with the crown in Disney’s Tangled)

Now, what’s all this about the Resolution being a turning point?

The Resolution isn’t just the end of the story. Life for the characters is not the same as it was at the beginning of the story. At the Resolution, they’ll have just started learning to adapt to their new Normal World.

Whether it’s being reunited with her parents (Disney’s Tangled) or the aftermath of defeating Thanos (Marvel’s Avengers: Endgame), the new Normal marks a turning point in the lives of the characters.

It ensures that while the story may have ended for the reader, it will not end for the characters.

Tell me your thoughts below! What do you think of the Resolution being a turning point?

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s